An Exotic Lifestyle Blog of Manliness

Suspension REAL TALK

Well I’m adventuring into the land of suspension arms for the JZZ which basically boils down to shopping for Soarer or JZA80 Supra suspension arms. Can I tell you how much this market sucks balls. All I can find availible state side are no name crap ebay companies. Then when I start diggin I find that good companies are K&M Missle, JIC magic and Ikeya Formula.

SO I would like us to have a thread where we discuss all the different suspension arms. I know for you 240 Bros one of the best companies is Powered by Max another is SPL. For my car its seems Ikeya Formula is king of the crop.

Right now I am just shopping for rear traction rods and Toe arms. Now the arms state side generally will cost me $350- $400 From the companies below. If I want “quality” parts I need to go mad tyte JDM and then Im paying $700-$1000 for these 4 pieces (2 arms a side).

US Stuff
Topspeed/Hardrace Traction Rod

Megan traction Rod

Topspeed/Hardrace Toe arm

Megan Toe Arm

Powerhouse Racing full set

Now if you look at these pictures you can see that all the arms are very similar in build and if you compare them to the K&M units or the Ikeyas there is a difference in thickness and the round stock used by the american arms vs. the octagonal stock used by the Japanese companies. The topseepd/hardrace arms are a good $100 cheaper than the megans and the Powerhouse arms are even cheaper than that. On the Toe arms you can see a difference in the rod ends on all three units. The rod ens on the toe arms for the Powerhouse units seem to be solid metal while the Megan units and topspeed units are more of an oem rubber end.

Any time someone mentions Megan or companies like godspeed or ISIS you get trash talkers and people posting knock-off hate and such. I want real talk. Expirience discussion here cause think about it if Ibuy the cheaper american arms and save enough money to repace them in 2 years again vs the cost of the JIC or Ikeya parts which is the lesser of 2 evils. Also our drift events are not that hard on our cars. There aren’t many dirt drops or horribly un even tracks. we are not doing 100mph initiations.

I also dont think that traction rods and toes arms are that dire of a part to be high quality. I would never skimp on actual control arms or tie rods. What do you guys think of this thought process as well.

How necessary are traction rods and toe arms? arm they something that will actually improve driveability or just more of a dress up thing?

4 responses

  1. I’ve got the same problem. All that I can find is Megan, Topspeed, and Che (relabeled Topspeed). I think Cusco may have made arms over in J land, but it will be a pain to get them over here (not to mention much more expensive)

    August 24, 2009 at 3:33 pm

  2. Kevin in my search I found some JIC stuff for your car, but again be prepared to pay big bucks its was like $350 something bucks for the traction arms i saw

    August 24, 2009 at 3:39 pm

  3. UZZ-TT

    I highly recommend BATTLE VERSION Traction and Toe rods. Check out my blog link and look through the pictures, there are several of them installed on my SC. I recommend Emailing Alex Pfeiffer himself and asking why the Megans and Ebay stuff is not very good quality, he will explain to you in detail I am sure. His products are tested and perfected on his own Drift cars. The Ikeya stuff is top notch- but you definitely pay for the rarity and name. Check out the pics on the Battle Version page under Gallery, you might be able to convice Alex to make some of the other arms as well for you that he made for his drift SC.* …maybe… Hope this helps, feel free to use the pics from my blog on your suspension arms thread.

    August 24, 2009 at 7:52 pm

  4. UZZ-TT I will defintiely continue the blog posts about arms. I’m glad you mentioned the battle version arms. I knew that they existed but with googling could not find them for sale. I know how Alex himself makes most of the arms from scratch since i have been following his Ziptied thread. I also know how busy he has been lately and how slim the chances of distracting him for my own benefit are.

    August 24, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

