An Exotic Lifestyle Blog of Manliness

The End of a Decade

For months now I have been wrestling with the idea of retiring from hockey, a sport that has dominated my life for the last 11 years.  I started playing hockey in my cousins drive way on roller blades when I was 14.  I moved into playing roller hockey competitively as a goaltender at 16 and from there moved on to Ice Hockey through highschool and college.  I have had a number of concusions and knee injuries and because of this to this day have a very bad back and two extremely painful worn out kness, pain which nags me even on good days.  I wouldn’t take any of it back for the world though.

This week however I decided to retire.  I’m hanging up my skates for a few reasons.  My back and knees just can’t handle 4 games a week anymore and I do not find it fun or enjoy the sport unless i am playing in an extremely competitive league.  I also want to focus more on a few hobbies completely rather than have myself spread out so thinly.  I don’t have the fund for the new equipment I need and to build the car.  I’m going to miss the sport, everytime i watch it live or on tv I want to be out there blocking slapshots.

Who knows… maybe one day I’ll get back in itbut till then… we had a good run together.

8 responses

  1. Totally sad post.

    :/

    January 15, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    • I know. it might sound kinda dumb but this was a huge life decision for me. Like a turning point in life, one of the most weighed and thoughout decisions i have made in the 27 years i have been on earth.

      Maybe after a years or so things will heal or get healthier and i’ll go back. I’m just tired of 24/7 back pain and knees that feel like someone poured sand in them. I can’t even walk around a mall anymoe without limping

      January 15, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      • I was also thinking just cause i can’t play doesnt mean I could possibly coach. I always said one day I’d like to coach little kids hockey, maybe be a highschool goalie coach.

        January 15, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  2. Yeah totally understand about it. If you’re gettin crappy knees, back, etc. you gotta make a decision for your own wellbeing…. which you did.

    being a coach kinda thing would be cool.

    🙂

    January 15, 2010 at 6:14 pm

  3. Go see a chiropractor if your back hurts.

    Your shit is guaranteed to be out of alignment, and I swear to you after the first adjustment you’ll feel a ton better, and once you get to the point where you’ve re-tuned your back’s muscles to hold your spine properly, you won’t have the pains that you’ve had anymore.

    I didn’t think the shit was legit either, but holy fuck, I got adjusted the first time and all the shoulder/upper back pain went away, like instantly.

    I can honestly say that, my back doesn’t really hurt anymore, and it used to hurt real bad between my shoulder blades and my lumbar region.

    January 15, 2010 at 8:55 pm

  4. DAMN Dude. That is sad. I’m not a sporty person, but admire people’s dedication and spirit that do play a sport.

    Take SoSideways’s advice and see a Chiropractor if possible. My dad did so after an accident and he said it helped him a whole lot.

    January 16, 2010 at 2:05 am

  5. That does suck. You will get the bug again. I haven’t played since High School and really want to get back into playing. I miss being on the ice, the stank of equipment, and the game. There is nothing else like ice hockey,

    January 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    • You are right about that. There is no other game that compares. I get this odd comfort evertime i wlak into a rink, the smell the feel of the cold.

      January 22, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

